Software Musings

The 40th Article

Posted on: 07/08/2006

Whenever I’m in an Anglican church I like to turn to the 39 articles of religion: the underlying beliefs of Anglicans.

I’m fond of many of the articles, including The Bishop of Rome hath no jurisdiction in this Realm of England and the more outspoken The Romish Doctrine concerning Purgatory, Pardons, Worshipping and Adoration, as well of Images as of Relics, and also Invocation of Saints, is a fond thing, vainly invented, and grounded upon no warranty of Scripture, but rather repugnant to the Word of God but I’m particularly fond of the 24th article:

It is a thing plainly repugnant to the Word of God, and the custom of the Primitive Church to have public Prayer in the Church, or to minister the Sacraments, in a tongue not understanded of the people.

Yesterday I was at a wedding and would like to add a 40th article:

It is a thing plainly repugnant to the ear to have public hymn singing in a key not reachable by the people.

3 Responses to "The 40th Article"

Reminds me of the time when I arranged the National Anthem in Ab and played it on the opening night of ‘Maria Marten’ (or ‘Murder in the Red Barn’) at Sutton Public Hall. None of the audience could join in (although you could hear one or two trying.) Next night I played it in G major!

I would add the 41st.

It is a thing of tedium when the ceremony of matrimony is recited from a standard text by an anglican priest, whilst all other literate people present are also reading the same text from the same text book being used by the priest.

At my own wedding, almost a third of a century ago, I actually asked the vicar why I couldn’t just read the words myself rather than the “repeat after me” style of

Vicar: “I Christopher, do take thee Alison..”

Me: “I Christopher, do take thee Alison…”

He “explained” that this couldn’t be accepted because I was perhaps illiterate and was ashamed of admitting this in front of the previously-named Alison. I wondered whether it would come as a nice shock to Alison to find out only after the wedding that I was illiterate—perhaps this is the sort of thing one should discuss before the wedding.

Leave a Reply

August 2006
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Disclaimer

The author of this blog used to be an employee of Nortel. Even when he worked for Nortel the views expressed in the blog did not represent the views of Nortel. Now that he has left, the chances are even smaller that his views match those of Nortel.
